This will be an exciting weekend for movie buffs who will root for their favorite nominees to win an Oscar. Likewise, it’s an exciting time for Destin snowbirds who have nominated a board directors for the 2018–2019 season. And the nominees are: for president, Jackie Roberson of Maine, 1st vice president, Ted Spring of Florida, 2nd vice president, Don Collins of Ontario, treasurer, Pete Sikkenga of Michigan, Secretary, Cindy Varnell of Tennessee, web master, Jack Krasky of Minnesota, publicity director, Mary Pierce of Ohio, and members-at-large, Linda Zukonik of Michigan and Dean Harper of Tennessee. Elections and installment will take place at the March 6 meeting. The Northwest Florida State College Jazz Band will be on hand to add a congratulatory spark to the proceedings.

Snowbird greeters will also be there, just as they have been for every meeting. As Chairperson Jackie Herlin of Minnesota puts it, “Being a greeter is a voluntary activity of the Destin Snowbirds. No one should feel unwelcome when they attend the weekly meeting as they are warmly greeted when they enter the Roost." Anyone interested in being a greeter next season should contact Jackie. Her information is on the activity sheet and on the website at

Another activity that requires nothing more than a friendly attitude, a welcoming smile and an unattached status, is the Singles Friendship Club. The club meets for lunch every Tuesday after the 11 a.m. snowbird meeting. Jan Langham of Michigan is the chairperson to contact for more information. She can also be found on the activity sheet and website.

Snowbird activities aren’t ending for everyone. Golfers will return home to show off the shots they’ve been perfecting all winter. Golf coordinator Joe Pierce has some parting advice for his Snowbird Cup golfers, “practice putting!” The 5th annual Snowbird Cup was held Sunday, Feb. 25, at Bluewater Bay Golf Club. And, while the trophy was lost to the Walton County Snowbirds for the fifth consecutive year, it was close. The 10-7 loss often came down to a single putt. Teams that were able to score in the winner’s column included Jim Demers and Mary Lou Barnard, Doug Orr and Pete Kolobutin, Dave Straub and Keith Melrose, Dave Slocum and Doug Davis, Ric Caner and Alvin Toll, and Bill Tierney and Ray Faczan. Teams that halved their matches included Paul Woelfer and Jules Chopp and Joe Pierce and Rick Baker.

Speaking of golf, this year’s Ladies Scrambles was moved to Shalimar Pointe Golf Club. On Friday, February 23, forty-four women teed for some friendly competition. First place prizes went to Kris Sedlak, Dianne Harrison, Pam Roe and Mary Tate. The second place team included Nancy Hewitt, Joanne Graham, Isabelle Wright and Mary Pierce. In third place was Susan Litwiller, Kathi Shropshire, Geegee Hawkins and Sue Cummins and Brenda Dunten, Jeanne Short Erra Sutherland and Mary Ann Boyce took home the consolation prize. The prizes for straightest drives went to Carol Bonhert and Norma Boardman. Judie Bowlby and Pam Roe won closest to the pin honors.


There will only be one meeting on Tuesday, beginning at 10 a.m. and it will be the last meeting of the season.

Storage lockers will be available on Saturdays, March 10, 17 and 24, from 8 to 9:30 a.m. You may purchase your own medium-sized (18 X 18 X 16) box and store it for $8. Bicycles can be stored for $20. Tickets will be available at Tuesday’s meeting.

Safe travels to all our snowbirds heading north. We look forward to your return to the Roost next season.