Cynthia Brown will join the Crestview City Council, Steven Menchel will continue serving on the Destin City Council and newcomers Kirby Locklear and Nathan Kelley will join re-elected Councilman Mike Holmes and former Councilman M.G. Moran on the Fort Walton Beach City Council.

That’s according to unofficial results reported by the Okaloosa County Supervisor of Elections office on Tuesday’s at-large, nonpartisan elections. The overall voter turnout was only 7.8 percent of registered voters.

In Crestview, Brown defeated incumbent Bill Cox by winning almost 59 percent of the vote for the four-year Group 1 seat.

“I am pleasantly surprised,” said Brown, who thanked all of her supporters. “I’m really focused on revitalizing downtown. And I want ordinary people to know that they can do something, too, in getting involved in city government.”

In Destin’s special election, Menchel received more than 60 percent of the vote while defeating Teresa Hebert for a one-year seat.

Late last year, Menchel was appointed by the council to fill the seat of former Councilman Tuffy Dixon. Dixon resigned last December after saying he was tired of the city’s contentious politics.

Starting Monday, Menchel will begin serving the final year of Dixon’s unexpired, second four-year term.

“My big thing is, with the new staff that we have, things are moving forward and I look forward to being part of that team,” said Menchel, who thanked his supporters while he was out removing his campaign signs.

“Too many things had not moved forward during the past couple of years," he added. "I want to get with the city manager and have a town hall meeting so the constituents come to us and we can hear their ideas and learn what their problems are.”

In a tight race for Fort Walton Beach’s four-year council seats, Locklear led all candidates with almost 21 percent of the votes. Holmes and Moran each topped the 20 percent mark, while Kelley received slightly less than 20 percent.

The fifth candidate was Ryan Hartman, who collected a little less than 19 percent of the vote.

 “I’m thrilled,” Locklear while thanking his family and supporters and celebrating at AJ’s on the Bayou. “It is quite an honor to be able to serve this city. It was a hard-fought victory, and it was close.”

He said he looks forward to making sure the city’s police and fire departments and parks are adequately funded, and that he wants to make Fort Walton Beach a go-to, fun destination.

Before his current four-year term, Holmes served a total of nine years on the council.

“I’m truly humbled by the votes that I got,” Holmes said, but added, “I guess I’m disappointed that we had such a small voter turnout.”

He said he's eager to see the Fort Walton Landing upgrades and the city’s downtown master plan being completed, and to make sure city officials are good stewards of Fort Walton Beach’s portion of the half-cent sales tax revenue.

Moran, who previously served on the council for two years, received only two fewer votes than Holmes and only 10 fewer than Locklear.

“I’m very pleased” with the win, said Moran, who was removing his campaign signs Tuesday night.

He said he’s excited about getting the city’s master plan done and making improvements to the city’s Commerce and Technology Park.

“We need to start making progress,” Moran said. “We don’t need the (industrial park) plans just sitting there. And we need to work with our state leaders on getting some funding for some of these issues.”

Kelley, who twice ran for a council seat before the current race, said he was very thrilled with his victory.

“I’ve been working on it for a very long time,” he said. “I’m pretty stoked. It’s like running a very long marathon.”

The biggest thing for the council to do now is to keep the city's momentum going, Kelley said.

“We have a ton of great things in the works, and the city manager and city staff are the best in the business,” he said.

One of the open Fort Walton Beach council seats had been held by Diane Keller, who died last September after battling cancer. John Holguin is filling the remainder of her current term, which expires March 31.

Besides the three contested races, the local elections featured a number of candidates who automatically won their respective seats after having faced no competition.

In Crestview, current Councilman J.B. Whitten will replace David Cadle as mayor. Also, Andrew Rencich will serve in the Group 2 council seat.

Incumbents Danny Dillard, Laura Driver and Kathleen Kunzman each were automatically re-elected in Cinco Bayou, and incumbents Debra Adams, Shawn Cogan and Scott Moneypenny will return to serve in Laurel Hill.

In Shalimar, Mark Franks will take over as mayor in place of Gary Combs, who has served in that post since 1999. Incumbents Brad Gable and Jerry McCallister will return to the Town Commission.