AIA Northwest Florida honor and design award winners

Special to The Log

Six projects designed by Northwest Florida architects have been recognized for their outstanding design work by the Northwest Florida Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Individuals were also recognized for their personal contributions to the community and the architecture profession.

AIA Northwest Florida members gathered at the Tiger Point Country Club to recognize the winners Feb. 20 as part of the annual meeting and awards gala.

The Design Award winners are:

DAG Architects in association with McWhorter Architects, PA, Destin — an Honor Award for Unbuilt Work for the Rosemary Beach Owner’s Center

VBA Design Inc., Panama City — an Honor Award of Excellence for Test of Time for the FSU Panama City Campus Buildings A, B, & C

Quina Grundhoefer Architects, Pensacola — a Merit Award of Excellence for Interior Architecture for the interiors at Global Learning Academy

STOA Architects, Pensacola — a Merit Award of Excellence for New Work for the Tiger Point Community Center

Geoff Chick & Associates Inc., Santa Rosa Beach — a Merit Award of Excellence for New Work for the Burt Residence in Watercolor

DAG Architects Inc., Destin — a Merit Award of Excellence for New Work for the Perdido Key Fire Station and Community Center

The AIA Northwest Florida Honor and Design Awards is the most prestigious award program administered by the Northwest Florida Chapter of AIA Florida. The awards are designed to encourage excellence in architecture, to elevate the public consciousness of good design and to recognize those owners, designers, and contractors whose work enriches the built environment.

Architects across the region submitted projects in eight different categories and were judged by a Sarasota based jury of prestigious architects. The jury is selected out of the region to ensure the confidentiality of the authors and entries, thus ensuring the jurors are unbiased.

The Honor Awards presented by AIA Northwest Florida are presented to AIA members that contribute to the community in Northwest Florida and members of the community that promote good design and a commitment to quality architecture.

The Honor Award winners are:

David Bailey, AIA — Honor Award for Community Service

Bennett Shuman, AIA — Honor Award for Service to the Profession

Northwest Florida State College Board of Trustees — Patron of the Profession.