Bookmark contest winners at the Destin Library

Special to The Log
Winners in the bookmark contest are (from left, row 1) Zachary Alabata, Maxx VanderSchoor, Alto Jackson, (row 2) Rohan Puri, Rain Hong, McKinley Reynolds, Gianna Jackson, Maddlyn Phillips and (row 3) Scarlett Maxson.

The Destin Library announced the winners of its recently completed Bookmark Art Contest in association with the celebration of National Library Week, April 14-20. Thirty seven people, including award winners, parents and friends, attended the awards ceremony held April 30 at the library. Will Rogers, Reference, Young Adult and Children’s librarian at the Destin Library, was the master of ceremonies. Library Assistant, Bridgette Oeser, was the official photographer for the event.

All bookmark design submissions were required to use the American Library Association’s 2013 “Communities matter@ your library” theme. Art work submitted could use crayons, colored pencils, markers and/or watercolors. Judging criteria included originality, creativity, neatness, printability and adherence to the designated theme.

Bookmark designs will be available for viewing at the Destin Library, on Facebook/Destin Library, and at the City of Destin’s website, First place winning designs and artist acknowledgement will be duplicated on bookmark stock and used at the Destin Library during the upcoming summer months.

Winners in each category are:

Age Group 4 years and under

1st Place Maxx VanderSchoor

2nd Place Alto Jackson

Age Group 5 – 8 years

1st Place Rain Hong

2nd Place Gianna Jackson

3rd Place Rohan Puri

Age Group 9 – 12 years

1st Place Zachary Alabata

2nd Place McKinley Reynolds

3rd Place Maddlyn Phillips

Age Group 13 – 17 years

1st Place Scarlett Maxson