Distinguished Young Women announced

Staff Writer
The Destin Log
Participating in the scholarship program are (from left, front) Chanteria Hamm, Jasmin Scaife, Lauren Abel, Rachel Hidalgo, Savannah Barefield, Abbey Schmidt of Destin, Sasha Larson, Erin Murphey, Sabrina Musteric, Alyssa Miles, Winnie Oden,Lydia Clarke, Ellie Boykin, Shannon Claflin, Ella Ruth Hill, Jessica Warsheski, Taylor Maderazo, Brandee Burke, Christie Schenck, Jessica Gunn, Destiny Keller, Jackie Orcutt. Not pictured: Jacklyn Henley and Beth Hinson.

Okaloosa County’s Distinguished Young Women program recently announced the Class of 2015. The twenty-four young women, who are academic seniors in 2015, will graduate from Choctawhatchee High School, Crestview High School, Niceville High School, Northwest Florida State College Collegiate High School, Fort Walton Beach High School or are home schooled.

DYW is in its second year in Okaloosa County. Natalie Lawson, a 2014 senior at Fort Walton Beach High school, is the current local title holder. She also won the State of Florida title in January and will compete at the National finals in June in Mobile, Ala. The scholarship program evaluates in five categories — academics, interview, fitness, talent and self-expression.

The upcoming class’ program will take place Saturday evening, July 19, in the Fort Walton Beach City Auditorium.