Florida Women’s Hall of Fame Seeks Nominations

Special to The Log

Nominations for the 2014-2015 Florida Women’s Hall of Fame are being accepted through July 15 by the Florida Commission on the Status of Women. Since its inception in 1982, the Hall of Fame has recognized and honored Florida women who, through their lives and works, have made significant contributions to the improvement of life for all citizens of the state.

The Commission accepts nominations to the Hall of Fame annually between April 1 and July 15. Following deliberations, the Commission will recommend 10 nominees to Governor Rick Scott, who will select up to three women for induction into the Hall in a March 2015 ceremony.

Last year’s inductees were Sheriff Susan Benton of Sebring, Louise Jones Gopher of Okeechobee, and Dottie Berger MacKinnon formerly of Tampa.

“The Florida Commission on the Status of Women is proud to honor these outstanding women who mean so much to our state and our history,” said Commission Chair Yvonne Fry. “Each year it is more difficult to choose ten finalists to send to the Governor because of the many superb nominations we receive.”

Nomination forms may be obtained by writing: The Florida Commission on the Status of Women, Office of the Attorney General, PL-01, The Capitol, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050, or by calling (850) 414-3300. Forms are also available for download on the Commission web site at