Destin Rotary installs new board

Staff Writer
The Destin Log
Attending the annual banquet (from left) were scholarship recipients Samantha Coughlin, University of Florida, Bob Hafner, Rotary scholarship chair, Charles Shackelford II, Wake Forest and
Kyle Saleby, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The Rotary Club of Destin recently held its annual banquet and awards ceremony at Rutherfords 465. Outgoing President, Kevin Bowyer, presented recognition awards to fellow Rotarians for their board and committee service under his leadership.

The evening’s recognition awards went to John Kelly as “Rookie of the Year,” Scott McCormick for the “Service Above Self” award, Jerry Simpson was inducted as an “Honorary Member” and Todd Wilkinson was named “Rotarian of the Year.” Also in attendance were three scholarship recipients, Samantha Coughlin (University of Florida), Kyle Saleby (MIT) and Charles Shakleford (Wake Forest). 

This past year, The Rotary Club of Destin raised almost $30,000 to benefit community service and humanitarian projects such as the Operation Clean Sweep at Destin Elementary School, Dictionaries for the third-graders at Destin Elementary, Destin Middle School Interact Club, Crop Drop, Harvest House, Food for Thought, Boys & Girls Club of the Emerald Coast, Mattie Kelly Arts Foundation, Dominican Republic Project and Destin Rotary Scholarship Fund.  During the 2013-2014 Destin Rotary year, the club welcomed 10 new members resulting in a 23 percent net increase in overall membership.   

Incoming President, Bill Lindsley, delivered his vision for the upcoming year stating, “Over the past years, I’ve witnessed the positive impact that Rotary has had on this community and throughout the world. I’m honored to be an integral part of the impact our club will have this year and into the future.” 

Lindsley concluded the ceremony with the installation of the 2014-2015 Board of Directors to serve under his leadership:  Jeanne Dailey, president-elect, Justin Woodward, secretary, Jason Belcher, treasurer, Gail Pelto, sergeant-at-arms, Kevin Bowyer, past president, John Kelly, club service, Shervin Rassa, community service, Gail Pelto, membership, Dion Moniz, international service, Lockwood Wernet, program director, Marcia Hull, public relations and Bob Hafner, scholarship fund.