NWFSC students recognized for excellence at ceremony

Special to The Log

Northwest Florida State College held its annual Student Awards and Honors ceremony on April 13. During the ceremony, college president Dr. Devin Stephenson gave the keynote address to students and families on the importance of pursuing excellence in all things.

Local students recognized for achievement for the 2016-2017 academic year include the following:

2016-2017 All-Florida Academic Team: Macayla Abercrombie (Miramar Beach), Harrison Blount (Miramar Beach) and Joanna Lara (DeFuniak Springs),

2017 Student Leader of the Year: Jennifer Smalley (Destin)

31st Annual James and Christian LaRoche Memorial Poetry Contest: First place: Savannah Gahagan (Destin)

Excellence in Early Childhood Education (BS): Grace Young (Freeport)

Holly Guiles Math Achievement Award: Dorinda Hromdka (Destin)

Outstanding Student in Visual Arts: Chloe A. Young (DeFuniak Springs)

BSN Academic Excellence Award – Overall Highest GPA: Lara Murphy (Destin)

BSN Academic Achievement Award – 4.0 in BSN Courses: Lara Murphy (Destin)

Best Advertising Campaign in Graphic Design: Rachel Meek (Destin)

Ross Hamilton Service Award: Kassandra Miller (Freeport) and Jennifer Smalley (Destin)

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 – Dental Assisting: Third place: Brittany Robertson (DeFuniak Springs)

SkillsUSA Florida Region 1 – Career Pathways Showcase: Healthcare Services (Radiography): Kelsie Jacobs (Destin)

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges: Macayla Abercrombie (Miramar Beach), Harrison Blount (Miramar Beach), Keaton Kish (Santa Rosa Beach), Justinn Desiree Kurtz (Freeport), Joanna Lara (DeFuniak Springs), Destiny Leggett (Eglin AFB), Troy McGlinchey (Freeport), Anna Radney (DeFuniak Springs) and Elizabeth Scruggs (Freeport)