2014 municipal elections deadline nears

Matt Algarin

As of Dec. 29, a total of four people have pre-filed to run in the 2014 municipal elections in Destin.

There are a total of four spots up for grabs, which include the mayor and three council seats.

Current mayor Sam Seevers announced earlier this month that she wouldn't seek re-election, telling The Log "it's the right time." As for the council seats, Councilman Jim Bagby's term is expiring after eight years; Councilman Larry Williges will not seek re-election; and Councilman Jim Foreman will run for re-election.

With Foreman already pre-filing, he joins Matthew Pace and Scott Jacobs as the only candidates to file at this point. Former City Councilman Mel Ponder has pre-filed to run for the mayor's spot.

Those interested in running in the March 11 municipal elections must file through the Okaloosa County Supervisor of Elections office by Jan. 3.