County commission candidate forum slated for Aug. 7

Matt Algarin
Pictured are candidates: Don Amunds, Trey Goodwin, Henry Kelley, and Carolyn Ketchel.

Want to learn more about the candidates running for the Okaloosa County Commission?

The Destin Log and the Destin Area Chamber of Commerce will be hosting a candidate forum and invite the public to come out and hear what the aspiring commissioners have to say about the future of Destin and Okaloosa County.

“We feel it’s a fundamental responsibility to provide to our community any opportunities we can for them to learn about what’s going on in the community,” said Shane Moody, president and CEO of the Destin Area Chamber of Commerce. “This forum provides our members and citizens the chance to see and hear from the candidates in person.” 

“That results in a more educated voter,” he added. “When you look at Okaloosa County and realize the critical juncture and issues we face, this is one of the more important commission elections we’ve had in some time. That makes it an even bigger need for the Destin Area Chamber to be involved.”

There are currently two seats up for grabs on the commission dais, the District 2 seat, which is currently held by Dave Parisot, and the District 4 seat, currently held by Don Amunds.

Parisot will not seek re-election, leaving Amunds as the lone incumbent on the Aug. 26 ballot.

Carolyn Ketchel is the only candidate qualified in District 2, and the District 4 race will see Henry Kelley and Trey Goodwin challenge Amunds.

If you would like to submit a question to the candidates, please email Log Editor Matt Algarin, who will be the forum’s moderator, at

The forum will be held at 5:30 p.m. in the City Hall Annex at 4100 Indian Bayou Trail (next to the Destin Dog Park).