Destin Area Chamber awards outstanding members and installs 2015 board (PHOTOS)

Special to The Log
Bill Head was honored as Paul Woolman Ambassador of the Year. He is pictured with outgoing Chairman Amy Perry, right, and Paul Woolman, the awards namesake.

About 200 members of the Destin Area Chamber of Commerce gathered at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village Friday night to celebrate 2014 successes and install the 2015 Officers and Board of Directors.

Outgoing Chamber Chairman Amy Perry of Pleat, Perry & Ritchie, P.A., presented the 2014 annual awards.  Fred Fenn, Fenn Properties, LLC, received the James D. Neilson, Sr., Chairman’s Award for Volunteer Service.

“If you’ve been involved or active with planning any of the Chamber’s major events, you’ve seen this person working diligently, honorably, and tirelessly. He donates his time to almost everything we do, and I mean hours and hours,” said Perry.

Magda and Corey Cooper of BOTE received the Business Person of the Year Award.

“By recognizing, mining, and fusing together the value of people, materials, relationships, and ideas, they have created an entrepreneurial enterprise that is not only successful in its own right, but has become a perfect example for other entrepreneurs in our community,” said Perry.

Jami Jones, Destin Charter Service, received the Ann Gibson Community Service Award.

“It’s easy to see that Destin’s history and heritage are very important to her,” explained Perry of Jones, who voluntarily chaired this past year’s Destin Seafood Festival. She also chairs the Chamber’s Harbor Advisory Committee and is involved with the Destin Fishing Rodeo and the Destin History & Fishing Museum.

The winner of the Paul Woolman Ambassador of the Year Award was Bill Head, for his untiring service to the Chamber and its Ambassador Program.  He is typically the first to volunteer, the first to arrive, and the last to leave Chamber events.

Outgoing Board members recognized with a plaque for their service included Shaun Eubanks, Employee Benefit Solutions; Dave Morrow, Allstate Insurance – Ryland/Morrow Agency; and Mary Anne Windes, Real Estate Professionals of Destin.

Members of the newly installed 2015 Executive Committee include Chairman Ken Wampler, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, Inc.; Chairman Elect Jonathan Ochs, Trustmark National Bank; Treasurer Bill Lindsley, SimpleHR/SimpleHIRE; Immediate Past Chairman Amy Perry, Pleat, Perry & Ritchie, P.A.; Vice Chairman – Communications & Marketing Julie Cotton, Northwest Florida State College;  Vice Chairman – Community & Economic Development Lockwood Wernet, Destin Water Users, Inc.; Vice Chairman – Membership Development Bob Perry, Destin Commons; and Vice Chairman – Harbor Advisory Committee Jami Jones, Destin Charter Service.

Other members of the 2015 Board of Directors include Jeramie Bates, ResortQuest by Wyndham Vacation Rentals; Hayward Dykes, Conerly, Bowman & Dykes, LLP; Fred Fenn, Fenn Properties, LLC; Steve Jay, Warren Averett; Rebecca Jones, The Rehabilitation Institute of Northwest Florida/Fort Walton Beach Medical Center; Pam Martin, Gulf Power; Paul Schreiner; Michelle Terry, Dale E. Peterson Vacations; Chairman’s Appointee Jason Connor, ValleyCrest Landscape Maintenance, Inc.; Chairman’s Appointee Scott Seay, Southern Vacation Rentals; Special Appointee Karen McCarthy, Army Aviation Center Federal Credit Union; and Special Appointee Kim Wintner, Alliance Association Management Co., Inc.

For more information and to see photos from the event, please visit or see their Facebook page.