New members of PTK and All-Florida Academic Team named

Special to The Log
Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2019 Inductees. [CONTRIBUTED PHOTO]

The Sigma Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Northwest Florida State College recently inducted 85 new members to their ranks. Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs. In order to be eligible for induction to PTK, a student must be enrolled at full-time status and have maintained a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 out of 4.0. The student must then maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of a 3.25 out of 4.0 to remain in good standing.

On Feb. 19, 10 NWF and Collegiate High School students were selected for the All-Florida Academic Team by PTK. This year’s statewide team consists of approximately 150 students. Each year, PTK recognizes outstanding students in the Florida College System based on academic achievement, leadership and service to the community by naming them to the All-Florida Academic Team. Students are nominated by their respective colleges to the All-USA Academic Team competition sponsored by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and USA Today.

“We are tremendously proud of our newly inducted Phi Theta Kappa members as well as those who were selected for the prestigious honor of being named to the All-Florida Academic Team,” said Dr. Devin Stephenson, president. “These students continue to represent Northwest Florida State College and their Five-Star chapter at the highest level. They will make a tremendous impact on our campus as they serve as incredible ambassadors.”

Led by Donna Pierson, faculty advisor to the Five-Star Sigma Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, members of the All-Florida Academic Team include Josie Barton (DeFuniak Springs), Emily Checchio (Destin), Zachary Lambert (Fort Walton Beach), Marie Ream (Freeport), Cathryn Robinson (Niceville), Donna Scott (Niceville), Natasha Skrovanek (Shalimar), Aaron Sutherland (Crestview), Emily Wixtrom (Eglin AFB) and Alana Woods (Crestview).

The Florida College System, in conjunction with the Phi Theta Kappa Florida Region, hosts an annual event to recognize the All-Florida Academic Team. Students are honored at an awards ceremony during which each student is presented with a medallion. The Florida College System is proud to honor this year's team on Thursday, April 4, at the Gaylord Resort and Convention Center in Orlando.

Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2019 inductees from Destin include Madison Pridgen, Michael Saunders and Pamella Villas Boas.