Students complete corrections officer training program at NWFSC

Staff Writer
The Destin Log
New graduates of program for Corrections Basic Recruit Training during the fall 2015.

Northwest Florida State College recognized 28 students Nov. 23 who successfully completed the Criminal Justice Training Center’s vocational certificate program for Corrections Basic Recruit Training during the fall 2015 academic semester.

Certificates of completion were presented to the graduates by Director William Looper along with Training Center Coordinator Steven Hough. Also present at the ceremony was college President Dr. Ty Handy.

The graduates are now eligible to take the State Officer Certification Exam, and once they pass the exam, they can become employed as sworn corrections officers in the state of Florida.

The Corrections Academy at NWF State College is an intense, 450-hour program that provides students with instruction in a comprehensive curriculum mandated by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. The Criminal Justice Training Center will offer another Corrections BRT Academy in the spring semester beginning on Jan. 11, 2016.

For information, contact the Criminal Justice Department at 850-729-5378 or visit www.nwfsc.edu/Academics/Departments/PublicSafety/CriminalJusticeTrainingCenter.

The fall 2015 graduates (listed in alphabetical order) are Amelia Clark (Sandestin), Austen Copeland (Milton), Charles Cronin (Samson, Ala.), Cameron Davis (Fort Walton Beach), James Filpi (Fort Walton Beach), Benjamin Foster (Crestview), Julian Garcia (Fort Walton Beach), Tracy Hardin (Pensacola), Jacob Hedden (Pensacola), Morgan Ingram (DeFuniak Springs), Michael Irwin (DeFuniak Springs), Sabrina Jackson (Crestview), Christopher Jarvis (Crestview), Michael Margist (Milton), Shane McDuffie (Navarre), Brandon Moss (Gulf Breeze), Jordan Pridgen (DeFuniak Springs), Matthew Qualls (Crestview), Matthew Roller (Crestview), Jason Santiago (Pensacola), Sheila Sibley (Pensacola), Ryan Singletary (DeFuniak Springs), Kristen Stuck (Laurel Hill), Anna Suggs (Holt), Jesse Swift (Crestview), Joshua Unruh (Milton), Joni Wagner (Navarre), and Trae Walsingham (Milton).