Local chapter of FPRA installs new board

Special to The Sun
Special to The Sun

Award winners are (from left) Sarah Brazwell, Steve Carter, Joan Carter, Erin Igram and Julie Stuckey.

The Northwest Florida Coast Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA) announced its 2016-2017 board of directors, the largest group of public relations professionals to oversee the chapter in its history.

In addition, the association named Steve and Joan Carter of Carter Enterprise Group “Person of the Year” among other awarded recipients.

“This is an exciting time for the Northwest Florida Chapter of FPRA,” said Megan Harrison, president for the local chapter. “Our chapter is one of the fastest growing chapters in our state and our members are some of the very best in the industry.”

FPRA, the oldest public relations association in the United States, entrusts each chapter to select a slate of board members who remain responsible for setting direction of its work, establishing policies, looking after the health and well-being as an origination and much more. Members of the Northwest Florida Coast Chapter who were sworn in as officers of the chapter’s board of directors are:

Megan Harrison, Walton Area Chamber — president

Whitney Lee, Lee IMC — immediate past president

Katie Johnson, Silver Sands Premium Outlets — treasurer

Kelli Carter, Walton County TDC — secretary

Julie Stuckey, Village of Baytowne Wharf — membership and president-elect

Brooke Scholl, Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort — programs

Denise Song, Paws — programs

Erin Igram, Purpose Communications — communications

Sarah Brazwell, Santa Rosa Golf & Beach Club — communications

Chelsea Blaich, Proffitt PR — time and attendance

Britt Matthews, Beachy Beach Real Estate — events

Marissa Marinan, Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village — events

Shaye Smith, Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort — events

Laura Holloway, The Storyteller Agency — design

Jessica Bracken, Proffitt PR — sponsorship

Leslie Moland, White-Wilson Medical Center — image

Stephanie Pettis, APR, Northwest Florida State College — accreditation

Each year during its annual board installation ceremony, the Northwest Florida Coast Chapter of FPRA recognizes a professional who has made a significant contribution within the field of public relations and has enriched the well-being of the community.

This year’s “Person of the Year” award was presented to Steve and Joan Carter of Enterprise Group. Together, this power couple has selflessly given their time to help young professionals and entrepreneurs throughout Northwest Florida. They are heavily involved with the Destin Charity Wine Auction Foundation and have helped spearhead the BUILD mentoring program through the Walton Area Chamber. They were instrumental in building the Volunteer Connection Program that assists non-profits in finding local volunteers. The Carter’s consistently say, “It is our time to give back.”

The Northwest Florida Coast Chapter also recognized its “Member of the Year,” Julie Stuckey of Village of Baytowne Wharf; and “President’s Choice,” Erin Igram of Purpose Communications and Sarah Brazwell of Santa Rosa Golf & Beach Club.