'Lighting The Way' award winners announced

Special to The Log

The Democratic Women's Club of Okaloosa County recognized members of the community as recipients of the "Lighting The Way" Award in June. The award recognizes those Democrats in Okaloosa County who are leaders in a variety of areas, supporting democratic ideals and "lighting the way" for others.

Winners are (from left) Michelle Anchors, partner of Keefe Anchors & Gordon Law; Debra McDaniel, executive director of Opportunity Place Inc.; Statia McNeese, community activist and Niceville resident; Jill Lewis Daggs, chair of the Democratic Black Caucus of Okaloosa and a member of the state DBC; Lee Bobo, former Fort Walton Beach City Council member and local activist; and Melissa Thrush, two-term member of the Okaloosa School Board. Award winners not pictured are Davey Jones, Democratic activist, and Dr. Naomi Barnes, local educator and first African American school principal in Okaloosa County.