Destin Rockets fall in championship game

Special to The Log

Out of eight teams, the U-15 Destin Rockets finished second in the Battle of the Beach lacrosse tournament in Gautier, Miss. this past weekend.

Competing against teams from Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana and Florida, Destin was seated fourth overall going into the Sunday playoff bracket.

The semi- final game ended with Destin winning 5-4 in double overtime over St. Paul of Louisiana.

The game began with Tyler Kersanac gaining possession of the face-off. Sawyer Henderson and Nicolas Parker kept the ball moving on offense, and then a quick pass to Tyler Kersanac resulted in a Rocket goal. Lucas Gauch was able to drive the ball down for another Destin goal. The defense stayed strong for most of the first half with Paxton Fell as goalie and Rhett Robinson, Joey Albert and Evan Motter.

St Paul rallied and scored two goals to tie the game at the half.

In the second half, both teams kept passing back and forth. Kersanac and Gauch both scored for Destin but St. Paul came back with two goals to tie the game again.

In the first five minute overtime, neither team could find the net.

However, in the second round of OT, Destin’s Aaron Motter came from the midfield with a left handed shot to find the goal and advance to the championship game.

Destin faced off against Gulf Breeze for the title.

Gulf Breeze scored first, followed up by a goal from Destin’s Dominic Annichiarico.

Gulf Breeze scored two more goals and Destin’s Lucas Gauch answered with a goal. Gulf Breeze scored one more time in the first half.

In the second half, Gulf Breeze continued to lead with two goals scored. Kersanac dropped a shot from the side for a Destin goal.

Again, Gulf Breeze charged down the field to score two more goals. Destin’s Lucas Guach scored on their defense.

Destin midfielders, Ethan Edwards and Ryan Glennon kept the ball moving trying to keep Gulf Breeze from scoring.

Up next for the Destin Rockets is a road trip to Gulf Breeze on Saturday.

The Rockets are coached by Wayne Motter and Justin Ong.