Lady Marlins capture golf title

Boys team finishes third behind Shoal River, Ruckel

Tina Harbuck

Not only did the Destin Marlin girls’ golf team win the Okaloosa County Middle School Golf Tournament played at Blackstone Golf Course in Mossy Head on Monday, but all five girls placed on the All-Tournament team.

“I’m so proud of how the girls have played all season, but especially today,” said Destin golf coach Patricia Malpass. “They all played practice rounds at Blackstone, prepared, practice and had a game plan going into the tournament. All of their hard work paid off and I couldn’t be happier for them.”

The Lady Marlins won with a score of 185, while the Ruckel Rams of Niceville finished second at 203.

Destin was led by fifth grader Camryn Lux with a 42. Riley Conroy checked in with a 45 and Aaliyah Miille carded a 46. Marlee Rountree and Juliana Hock each shot a 52, while Piper Lindsley scored 64.

Lux came in second overall for the individual low score behind Davidson’s Gracie Grant, who shot a 41.

As for the Destin boys, they came up a bit short finishing third.

Shoal River of Crestview took first with a 199, while Ruckel came in second at 203.

Destin, who won the title last year, came in third at 205.

“Our players fought hard till the end,” said Destin Coach Terry Gulledge. “We are disappointed to come up short, but congratulate Shoal River.”

Leading the effort for Destin and winning the individual county championship was eighth grader Parker Seagle with a 42.

“I did pretty good,” Seagle said as he waited at the last hole for his teammates to finish up on the cold windy day. “It was cold and a little bit windy at the end.

“My driver and my putting struggled little bit. But I guess my irons were pretty good, so that saved me,” Seagle added.

Coming in second for Destin and fifth overall was Tanner Morlan with a 48.

Miller Lindsley scored a 54 to continue his last season surge with another strong outing, while Isaiah Battereo and Palmer Lindsley each shot a 61.

Seagle and Morlan were both named to the All-Tournament team.